Editorial

This is the last issue of the *EJIL* edited by Philip Alston, who has now joined our newly established group of Honorary Editors. Philip Alston was at the helm of the *EJIL* for over a decade and his achievements were singular. He is owed a huge debt of gratitude not only by the editors and staff of the *EJIL* but by its readers and the international law community as a whole.

I take over the position of Editor-in-Chief with fear and trembling. 'The heart of the prudent getteth knowledge; and the ear of the wise seeketh knowledge.' I would like to introduce the fountain of wisdom from which I will be seeking knowledge.

In addition to the evergreen Bruno Simma and Nino Cassese, the Board of Editors now includes Emmanuelle Jouannet, Orna Ben-Naftali and Francesco Francioni. Pierre-Marie Dupuy has joined Philip Alston in the emeritus ranks of our Honorary Board.

Emmanuelle Jouannet is Professor of International Law at the Université de Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne), Vice-Director of the CERDIN de Paris I and Director of the Masters Programme in International Law at the Université de Paris I. She is also a member of the Executive Board of the European Society of International Law. Her areas of interest include international law, human rights, and the history and philosophy of law.

Orna Ben-Naftali is Head of the International Law Division and the Law and Culture Division at the Law School of the College of Management Academic Studies, Israel. Her writings focus on international humanitarian law and international criminal law.

Francesco Francioni is Professor of International Law and Human Rights at the European University Institute, Florence, and at the Law Faculty of the University of Siena. He is Co-Director of the Academy of European Law and General Editor of the Italian Yearbook of International Law. He is also the Vice-President of the European Society of International Law. His areas of research lie in international law, international human rights law, international environmental law and cultural heritage law.

The Scientific Advisory Board is no less impressive.

Dapo Akande is a Lecturer in Public International Law and Yamani Fellow at St Peter's College, University of Oxford. He teaches and carries out research in general international law as well as international criminal law, the law of international organizations and international dispute settlement.

Nehal Bhuta is Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Toronto. He works on international human rights law, the history and theory of international law, and political theory.

Paola Gaeta is Professor of International Criminal Law at the University of Geneva and Professor of International Law at the University of Florence. She is also a member of the Direction of the Geneva Academy of International Humanitarian Law and

Human Rights Law. Her main fields of research include public international law, international criminal Law and international humanitarian law.

Vera Gowlland-Debbas is Professor of Public International Law at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva. She is also a member of the Executive Board of the European Society of International Law. She has written on diverse issues, including UN sanctions, dispute settlement, treaty law, state responsibility and refugee law.

Andreas Paulus is Professor of Public and International Law at the Georg-August-University Göttingen. He has also taught in Munich and at the University of Michigan. His research focuses on general international law and legal theory, international criminal law and comparative constitutional law.

Anne Peters is Professor of Public International Law and Constitutional Law at the University of Basel. Prior to taking up this post in 2001 she was Assistant Professor at the Walther-Schücking-Institute of Public International Law at the Christian Albrechts University Kiel. She is also a member of the Executive Board of the European Society of International Law. Her research activities cover general public international law, especially its constitutionalization, European constitutional law, constitutional theory and constitutional comparison, and national and international human rights.

Hélène Ruiz Fabri is Professor at the Université de Paris I (Panthéon-Sorbonne), Director of the Joint Institute of Comparative Law (Paris I/CNRS), and President of the European Society of International Law. She teaches and researches in the areas of general international law, WTO law, international dispute settlement and comparative constitutional law.

Iain Scobbie is the Sir Joseph Hotung Research Professor at the School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London. He is also a member of the Executive Board of the European Society of International Law. He maintains a special interest in international humanitarian law; international adjudication, particularly the role of the International Court of Justice; and in the theory of international law.

Linos-Alexander Sicilianos is Associate Professor at the University of Athens. He is also a member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, Vice-President of the Greek National Commission of Human Rights and a member of the Administrative Board of the Human Rights Agency of the EU. His research concentrates on various aspects of general international law, including state responsibility, use of force and sanctions, and international protection of human rights.

Please wish us all success.

JHHW doi: 10.1093/ejil/chn012